Executive Summary
The 8 filings in this Consumer Staples digest are dominated by routine insider transactions and proxy materials, with no major earnings or M&A announcements. The most notable development is AQR Capital Management's 6.34% passive stake in Molson Coors, signaling institutional interest in the beverage sector.
General Mills' proxy reveals a 12.2% CEO pay increase despite a stock price decline, raising governance questions. Walmart insiders engaged in tax-related share withholdings, a routine but notable activity. Hershey's president received a stock award, indicating retention efforts. No period-over-period financial comparisons or forward-looking guidance were provided in these filings, limiting trend analysis. The overall sentiment is neutral, with no significant bullish or bearish signals. Investors should monitor upcoming annual meetings and any subsequent insider transactions for further insights.
Materiality, sentiment, and priority are scored by Gunpowder’s analysis pipeline. How we score filings →
Filing types in this digest: Schedule 13G · DEF 14A · DEFA14A · Form 4
Tracking the trend? Catch up on the prior S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings digest from August 12, 2026.
Investment Signals (6)
- Molson Coors ↓ (BULLISH)▲
AQR Capital Management disclosed a 6.34% passive stake (11.1M shares) as of June 30, 2026, indicating institutional confidence in the company's value
- General Mills ↓ (BEARISH)▲
CEO compensation rose 12.2% to $14.0M despite a 18.1% decline in grant-date stock price ($51.81 vs $63.26), potentially signaling misalignment with shareholder value
- Hershey ↓ (BULLISH)▲
President US was awarded 12,024 shares, aligning management interests with shareholders and suggesting confidence in future performance
- Walmart ↓ (NEUTRAL)▲
Multiple EVPs and SVP had shares withheld for taxes at $112.66, a routine transaction with no bearish signal; total insider holdings remain substantial
- General Mills ↓ (BULLISH)▲
No options granted near periodic filings and compensation programs deemed not to encourage excessive risk, indicating prudent governance
- Molson Coors ↓ (BULLISH)▲
Passive investment by AQR may attract other institutional investors, potentially increasing demand for the stock
Risk Flags (6)
- General Mills/Governance↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
CEO pay increased 12.2% while stock price fell 18.1% on grant date, raising concerns about pay-for-performance alignment
- General Mills/Compensation↓ [LOW RISK]▼
PSUs have a three-year performance period and cliff vesting, which could lead to short-term risk-taking if metrics are not well-balanced
- Walmart/Insider Activity↓ [LOW RISK]▼
Tax-related withholdings by four executives, though routine, reduce insider holdings slightly; monitor for any selling patterns
- Hershey/Insider Activity↓ [LOW RISK]▼
The stock award to President US is a one-time event; lack of open-market purchases may indicate limited insider conviction
- Molson Coors/Ownership↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
AQR's passive stake could be sold at any time, potentially creating selling pressure if the fund changes its outlook
- General Mills/Proxy↓ [LOW RISK]▼
The DEFA14A filing provides no new financial information, but the annual meeting may reveal shareholder concerns about compensation
Opportunities (6)
- Molson Coors/Institutional Interest↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
AQR's 6.34% stake signals undervaluation potential; investors could consider building a position ahead of potential activist or value-unlocking moves
- General Mills/Governance Reform↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The pay-for-performance misalignment may pressure the board to adjust compensation, potentially improving shareholder sentiment and stock performance
- Hershey/Management Alignment↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The stock award to President US suggests retention and motivation; if the company delivers strong results, the stock could outperform
- Walmart/Insider Holdings↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
Despite tax withholdings, insiders retain significant holdings, indicating confidence; any future open-market purchases would be a strong bullish signal
- General Mills/Annual Meeting↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The upcoming annual meeting (date not specified) could be a catalyst for governance improvements or strategic announcements
- Sector/Consumer Staples (OPPORTUNITY)◆
With neutral sentiment across filings, the sector may be undervalued relative to growth sectors; defensive characteristics could appeal in a volatile market
Sector Themes (5)
- Institutional Passive Investment◆
AQR's stake in Molson Coors highlights a trend of passive funds increasing exposure to consumer staples for stability and dividends
- Insider Activity as Routine◆
Most insider transactions in this digest are tax-related withholdings, indicating no significant insider selling or buying across the sector
- Governance Scrutiny◆
General Mills' CEO pay increase amid stock decline may prompt investors to scrutinize executive compensation across consumer staples companies
- Management Retention◆
Hershey's stock award to a key executive suggests companies are using equity incentives to retain leadership in a competitive talent market
- Lack of Forward-Looking Guidance◆
None of the filings provided financial guidance, limiting visibility into sector growth; investors should await earnings calls for updates
Watch List (6)
-
Watch for shareholder votes on executive compensation and any strategic updates; date not specified in filing
-
Monitor for any 13D filing or changes in AQR's stake, which could signal activist intentions
-
Watch for any open-market purchases by executives, which would be a bullish signal
-
Monitor operational metrics following the stock award to assess if management incentives are driving results
-
Watch for any changes in compensation structure in response to pay-for-performance concerns
- Sector/Earnings Season👁
Upcoming earnings calls for these companies will provide forward-looking guidance and operational metrics to update investment theses
Filing Analyses
(8)
13-08-2026
AQR Capital Management, LLC disclosed a 6.34% beneficial ownership stake in Molson Coors Beverage Co as of June 30, 2026, holding 11,108,304 shares of Class B Common Stock. The filing is a routine Schedule 13G by an institutional investment manager, indicating passive investment intent without any control-related purpose.
- · Filing date: August 13, 2026
- · As of date: June 30, 2026
- · AQR Capital Management, LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of AQR Capital Management Holdings, LLC
- · The filing is made under Rule 13d-1(b), confirming passive investment intent
- · No sole voting power or sole dispositive power is held by AQR; all 11,108,304 shares are shared
13-08-2026
General Mills filed its DEF 14A proxy statement for the 2026 annual meeting, detailing executive compensation for fiscal 2026. CEO Jeffrey L. Harmening's total compensation rose 12.2% to $14,018,052, driven by higher non-equity incentive pay and pension value changes, while the company's stock price on the grant date declined to $51.81 from $63.26 in fiscal 2025. The compensation committee concluded that programs do not encourage excessive risk, and no stock options were granted near periodic filings.
- · The compensation committee concluded that compensation programs do not encourage excessive risk.
- · No stock options were granted to NEOs during the blackout period around periodic filings in fiscal 2026.
- · Stock options have a four-year graded vesting (25% per year); RSUs have four-year graded vesting; PSUs have a three-year performance period and three-year cliff vesting.
- · PSU grant date fair value was calculated using Monte Carlo valuation ($50.01 per PSU in fiscal 2026).
- · Black-Scholes assumptions for fiscal 2026 options: expected term 8.0 years, dividend yield 4.71%, dividend growth rate 1.54%, risk-free rate 4.216%, volatility 22.3%.
- · Under Section 162(m), compensation over $1 million to covered individuals is generally not deductible, but the committee retains flexibility to award non-deductible compensation.
- · CEO's all other compensation includes $67,181 in retirement plan contributions and $15,440 in perquisites.
- · CFO Kofi A. Bruce's total compensation was $4,962,979, slightly higher than COO Dana M. McNabb's $4,846,042.
- · Jaime Montemayor and Karen Wilson Thissen had no change in pension value in fiscal 2026.
13-08-2026
General Mills, Inc. filed a DEFA14A (definitive additional proxy materials) with the SEC on August 13, 2026, relating to its upcoming annual meeting. The filing is a soliciting material under Rule 14a-12 and does not contain specific financial results or operational metrics.
- · Filing type is DEFA14A (definitive additional proxy materials).
- · Filed on August 13, 2026.
- · Relates to proxy solicitation for the annual meeting under Section 14(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
- · No fee required for this filing.
13-08-2026
President US Hoytink Heather Carol was awarded 12,024 Common Stock. Hoytink Heather Carol holds 12,024 shares after the transaction.
- · President US Hoytink Heather Carol was awarded 12,024 Common Stock
13-08-2026
Executive Vice President Guggina David W had withheld for taxes 117.725 Common at $112.66 (~$13.3K). Guggina David W holds 124,841.852 shares after the transaction.
- · Executive Vice President Guggina David W had withheld for taxes 117.725 Common at $112.66 (~$13.3K)
13-08-2026
Executive Vice President Watkins Latriece had withheld for taxes 227.113 Common at $112.66 (~$25.6K). Watkins Latriece holds 115,882.385 shares after the transaction.
- · Executive Vice President Watkins Latriece had withheld for taxes 227.113 Common at $112.66 (~$25.6K)
13-08-2026
Executive Vice President Dallaire Seth had withheld for taxes 386.619 Common at $112.66 (~$43.6K). Dallaire Seth holds 377,629.156 shares after the transaction.
- · Executive Vice President Dallaire Seth had withheld for taxes 386.619 Common at $112.66 (~$43.6K)
13-08-2026
SVP & Controller Milum Dwayne M had withheld for taxes 121.179 Common at $112.66 (~$13.7K). Milum Dwayne M holds 49,151.632 shares after the transaction.
- · SVP & Controller Milum Dwayne M had withheld for taxes 121.179 Common at $112.66 (~$13.7K)
Get daily alerts with 6 investment signals, 6 risk alerts, 6 opportunities and full AI analysis of all 8 filings
$30/mo after a 14-day free trial — no credit card required. See pricing or explore intelligence streams.
More from: S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings
August 11, 2026
S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings — August 11, 2026
August 10, 2026
S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings — August 10, 2026
August 06, 2026
S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings — August 06, 2026
August 05, 2026
S&P 500 Consumer Staples Sector SEC Filings — August 05, 2026
🇺🇸 More from United States
View all →August 14, 2026
US Pre-Market SEC Filings Roundup — August 14, 2026
US Pre-Market SEC Filings Roundup
August 14, 2026
USA Corporate Events Calendar — August 14, 2026
USA Corporate Events Calendar
August 14, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule — August 14, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule
August 14, 2026
S&P 500 Industrials Sector SEC Filings — August 14, 2026
S&P 500 Industrials Sector SEC Filings