Executive Summary
The August 12, 2026, M&A digest is dominated by a surge in SPAC activity, with five blank-check companies (BOA Acquisition Corp. II, OceanLight Acquisition Corp, TCGX Acquisition Corp, Inflection Point Acquisition Corp. V, and Embrace Change Acquisition Corp.) advancing their lifecycles through IPOs, regulatory approvals, or charter amendments to facilitate business combinations.
The most material event is the completion of Modiv Industrial's merger into Global Net Lease, Inc., a high-certainty closure that removes a public entity. A notable operational outlier is Stem, Inc., which reported a mixed quarter with a 12% YoY revenue decline but a 63% surge in adjusted EBITDA and a 600 bps improvement in non-GAAP gross margins, alongside a strategic asset acquisition. The digest also includes two opaque filings (XMax Inc. and Pelican Acquisition II Corp) with no deal specifics, representing information gaps. The overarching theme is a busy SPAC pipeline with several companies nearing de-SPAC milestones, creating a binary event-driven catalyst calendar for the coming weeks.
Materiality, sentiment, and priority are scored by Gunpowder’s analysis pipeline. How we score filings →
Filing types in this digest: 8-K
Tracking the trend? Catch up on the prior US Merger & Acquisition SEC Filings digest from August 11, 2026.
Investment Signals (10)
-
Merger completed on August 12, 2026, with Modiv shareholders receiving 1.975 GNL shares per share. This high-certainty event (Materiality 9/10) removes Modiv as a standalone entity and creates a larger, more liquid combined entity in GNL. [BULLISH for GNL]
- Stem, Inc. ↓ (BULLISH)▲
Q2 2026 revenue declined 12% YoY to $33.7M, but adjusted EBITDA surged 63% to $6.2M (5th consecutive positive quarter), and non-GAAP gross margin expanded 600 bps YoY to 55%. This signals a successful pivot to higher-margin software/services.
- Stem, Inc. / raicoon GmbH ↓ (BULLISH)▲
Acquired assets of raicoon GmbH to enhance its PowerTrack platform, a strategic bolt-on that could drive future software revenue growth. No deal value disclosed, but it signals management's focus on product enhancement.
-
Priced a $100M IPO (10M units at $10.00) on August 7, 2026, with a 45-day over-allotment option for up to 1.5M additional units. This provides a fresh SPAC vehicle with significant dry powder for a future target. [NEUTRAL/BULLISH for SPAC sponsors]
-
Completed IPO and concurrent private placement, raising $91.475M total gross proceeds, including full exercise of the over-allotment. The $86.25M in trust provides a solid base for a future business combination. [NEUTRAL/BULLISH for SPAC sponsors]
-
SEC declared effective the Form F-4 for the proposed business combination. Shareholder vote scheduled for record date June 30, 2026. This is a key catalyst milestone, moving the deal toward completion. [BULLISH for deal completion]
-
Adopted Fifth Amended and Restated Memorandum to facilitate a Business Combination, defining a target with fair market value of at least 80% of trust assets. This signals the SPAC is actively advancing its de-SPAC process. [BULLISH for near-term deal announcement]
- Bluerock Homes Trust, Inc. ↓ (NEUTRAL)▲
Sold 21 additional single-family units for $7.1M (aggregate 45 units in 2026), with net proceeds of $6.4M not yet reinvested. This capital recycling could be deployed into higher-yielding acquisitions, but the lack of reinvestment is a near-term drag on income.
- Blue Water Acquisition Corp. III ↓ (NEUTRAL)▲
Increased promissory note from $500K to $750K with a $250K advance, convertible at $10.00/unit. This provides additional working capital runway, signaling the SPAC is still searching for a target.
- BOA Acquisition Corp. II ↓ (NEUTRAL)▲
Completed IPO of 14.375M units at $10.00, raising $143.75M in gross proceeds. The 12-month deadline to complete a business combination creates a ticking clock, but the large trust size makes it an attractive partner for a target.
Risk Flags (8)
- Stem, Inc. / Revenue Decline↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
Q2 2026 revenue fell 12% YoY to $33.7M, driven by reduced battery hardware resales and lower managed services revenue. This top-line weakness could indicate softening demand or competitive pressures in the core business.
- Stem, Inc. / Net Loss Swing↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
Q2 2026 net loss of $14.4M compared to net income of $202.5M in Q2 2025, primarily due to a one-time gain on debt extinguishment in the prior year. Excluding that one-time item, the underlying profitability trend remains negative.
- XMax Inc. / Information Gap↓ [HIGH RISK]▼
Filed an 8-K with Items 1.01, 2.01, and 9.01 regarding a merger/acquisition, but provided no deal specifics, valuation, or financial metrics. This opacity creates uncertainty for investors trying to assess the deal's impact.
- Pelican Acquisition II Corp / Information Gap↓ [HIGH RISK]▼
Filed an 8-K announcing a merger/acquisition event with no financial details, deal structure, or strategic rationale. The lack of disclosure (Materiality 3/10) makes it impossible to assess value creation or risks.
- byNordic Acquisition Corp / Charter Amendment↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
Filed an 8-K reporting amendments to its Certificate of Incorporation and matters submitted to a vote. Without details on the amendments or voting results, this could signal changes to shareholder rights or deal terms.
- Bluerock Homes Trust / Uninvested Proceeds↓ [LOW RISK]▼
Net proceeds of $6.4M from the Ballast portfolio sales have not yet been reinvested. If this capital remains idle for an extended period, it could dilute returns and signal a lack of attractive acquisition opportunities.
- Blue Water Acquisition Corp. III / Extended Search↓ [MEDIUM RISK]▼
The increase in the promissory note to $750K suggests the SPAC is still funding operations while searching for a target. If a deal is not announced soon, the SPAC may face pressure to liquidate.
- SPAC Concentration Risk▼
5 of 12 filings (42%) are SPACs at various stages (IPO, pre-deal, de-SPAC). This concentration increases event risk and binary outcomes, as SPACs are highly dependent on finding and closing a deal within a limited timeframe.
Opportunities (8)
- Stem, Inc. / Margin Expansion↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
Non-GAAP gross margin improved 600 bps YoY to 55%, and adjusted EBITDA grew 63% YoY. If this margin trajectory continues, Stem could reach sustained profitability, making the current revenue decline a temporary headwind.
- ◆
With the SEC declaring the F-4 effective, the deal is on track for a shareholder vote. If approved, this could unlock value for SPAC shareholders who bought near trust value.
- OceanLight Acquisition Corp / Fresh SPAC↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
At $10.00/unit, the IPO offers a near-risk-free arbitrage opportunity for investors who can redeem at trust value if no deal is found, while retaining upside optionality from warrants and rights.
- TCGX Acquisition Corp / Fresh SPAC↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
Similar to OceanLight, the $10.00 IPO price with trust protection provides a downside floor, with upside from a future business combination. The full over-allotment exercise signals strong institutional demand.
- Embrace Change Acquisition Corp / De-SPAC Catalyst↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The adoption of governing documents to facilitate a Business Combination suggests a deal announcement could be imminent. Investors monitoring this SPAC could benefit from a pre-deal announcement pop.
- Bluerock Homes Trust / Capital Recycling↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The company has $6.4M in uninvested proceeds from asset sales. If management deploys this capital into higher-yielding acquisitions, it could boost portfolio income and NAV.
-
The merger creates a larger, more diversified net lease entity. GNL shareholders may benefit from cost synergies and a broader portfolio, while Modiv shareholders receive a liquid GNL stake. [OPPORTUNITY for GNL holders]
- Stem, Inc. / raicoon Acquisition↓ (OPPORTUNITY)◆
The asset acquisition of raicoon GmbH could enhance Stem's PowerTrack platform, potentially driving higher software attach rates and recurring revenue. If successful, this could re-rate the stock.
Sector Themes (6)
- SPAC Pipeline Surge◆
5 of 12 filings (42%) are SPAC-related, spanning IPOs (BOA, OceanLight, TCGX), pre-deal milestones (Inflection Point/GOWell), and de-SPAC preparations (Embrace Change). This indicates a busy period for blank-check companies, with several nearing business combinations.
- High Certainty M&A Closure◆
The Modiv Industrial/GNL merger completed on August 12, 2026, with a Materiality of 9/10, demonstrating that large, well-structured deals are closing despite market volatility. This provides a positive signal for other pending SPAC mergers.
- Revenue vs. Profitability Divergence◆
Stem, Inc. reported a 12% YoY revenue decline but a 63% surge in adjusted EBITDA and 600 bps margin expansion. This trend suggests companies are prioritizing profitability over top-line growth, a common theme in the current rate environment.
- Information Asymmetry in Small-Cap M&A◆
Two filings (XMax Inc. and Pelican Acquisition II Corp) provided no deal specifics, creating significant information gaps. This highlights the risk of investing in small-cap M&A events where disclosure is minimal.
- Capital Recycling in Real Estate◆
Bluerock Homes Trust sold 45 single-family units in 2026 for aggregate proceeds, with $6.4M in net proceeds not yet reinvested. This reflects a broader trend of real estate companies monetizing assets to redeploy capital into higher-return opportunities.
- SPAC Working Capital Extensions◆
Blue Water Acquisition Corp. III increased its promissory note by 50% ($500K to $750K), indicating that some SPACs are extending their search timelines. This could lead to more deadline extensions or liquidations if targets are not found.
Watch List (8)
-
Shareholder vote on business combination. Record date June 30, 2026. Watch for proxy vote results and any redemptions.
-
Anticipate a business combination announcement following the adoption of governing documents. Watch for a target disclosure and deal terms.
-
Watch for continued margin expansion and revenue stabilization. The raicoon acquisition integration and full-year 2026 guidance reaffirmation will be key.
-
The 45-day option for underwriters to purchase up to 1.5M additional units expires around September 21, 2026. Exercise would increase trust size.
-
Watch for a subsequent 8-K or S-4 filing with deal specifics, valuation, and financial statements to close the information gap.
-
Similar to XMax, watch for a more detailed filing disclosing the deal structure, target, and financial impact.
-
Watch for announcements of reinvestment of the $6.4M in net proceeds from Ballast dispositions. Any acquisition would signal portfolio optimization.
-
With the promissory note increase, watch for a target announcement or a deadline extension vote in the coming months.
Filing Analyses
(12)
12-08-2026
BOA Acquisition Corp. II completed its initial public offering (IPO) of 14,375,000 units at $10.00 per unit, raising gross proceeds of $143,750,000, and a private placement of 221,500 units raising $2,215,000. The combined net proceeds of $143,750,000 were placed in a trust account. The company has 12 months to complete an initial business combination or it must redeem public shares.
- · IPO price per unit: $10.00
- · Each unit consists of one Class A ordinary share and one right to receive one Class A ordinary share upon completion of an initial business combination
- · Private placement units are subject to transfer restrictions until 30 days after the initial business combination and have registration rights
- · Trust account funds will be released upon completion of initial business combination, redemption in connection with certain amendments, or redemption if no business combination within 12 months from IPO closing
- · Audited balance sheet as of August 5, 2026 included as Exhibit 99.1
12-08-2026
Inflection Point Acquisition Corp. V (IPEXU) and GOWell Technology Limited announced that the SEC declared effective their Registration Statement on Form F-4 for the proposed business combination. The definitive proxy statement/prospectus will be mailed to SPAC shareholders of record as of June 30, 2026, for a vote on the combination. The filing also notes a separate shareholder vote on an extension of the business combination deadline, with no financial figures or performance metrics disclosed.
- · Registration Statement on Form F-4 declared effective by SEC on August 11, 2026.
- · Record date for shareholders entitled to vote on the business combination is June 30, 2026.
- · SPAC also filed a definitive proxy statement on July 20, 2026, for a separate vote to extend the business combination deadline.
- · Business Combination Agreement originally dated October 13, 2025, and amended on December 22, 2025, and July 13, 2026.
- · No financial terms, transaction value, or performance metrics were disclosed in this filing.
12-08-2026
Bluerock Homes Trust, Inc. completed the disposition of an additional 21 single-family residential units from its Ballast portfolio between June 3 and August 11, 2026, for an aggregate sales price of approximately $7.1 million and net proceeds of about $6.4 million. This follows the earlier sale of 24 units in the first half of 2026, bringing total 2026 Ballast dispositions to 45 units. The company holds a 95% interest in the joint venture that owned the portfolio, and the proceeds have not yet been reinvested.
- · The dispositions were made to unaffiliated third parties under multiple separate purchase and sale agreements.
- · Pro forma financial statements assume the 21-unit sale occurred on March 31, 2026 for balance sheet purposes and on January 1, 2026 for income statement purposes.
- · Pro forma total net real estate investments decrease from $847.3M to $835.6M, while cash and equivalents increase from $170.1M to $180.9M.
- · Pro forma total assets decline slightly from $1,142.9M to $1,141.95M.
- · The company has not yet reinvested the net proceeds from these dispositions.
12-08-2026
Modiv Industrial, Inc. completed its merger with a subsidiary of Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) on August 12, 2026, resulting in Modiv becoming a wholly owned subsidiary of GNL. Modiv common stockholders received 1.975 GNL shares per share, while preferred stockholders received $25.00 per share plus accrued dividends. The merger triggered the termination of Modiv's credit agreement, delisting of its stock from the NYSE, and resignation of its board and officers.
- · The credit agreement with KeyBank and other lenders was repaid in full and terminated as of the closing date.
- · Modiv's common and preferred stock were suspended from trading on the NYSE effective prior to the opening on August 12, 2026.
- · GNL intends to file a Form 15 to terminate Modiv's registration under the Exchange Act.
- · All directors of Modiv resigned at the merger effective time, and officers Aaron S. Halfacre, John C. Raney, and Raymond J. Pacini ceased to be officers.
- · The surviving entity's governing documents became those of REIT Merger Sub (a GNL subsidiary).
12-08-2026
Blue Water Acquisition Corp. III, a blank check company, entered into an amended and restated promissory note with Yorkville BW Acquisition Sponsor, LLC on August 11, 2026, increasing the principal amount from $500,000 to $750,000 with an additional $250,000 advance. The note is non-interest bearing, matures upon the earlier of the initial business combination or winding up, and is convertible into units of the post-combination entity at $10.00 per unit at the payee's option. The payee has waived any claim against the trust account established in connection with the IPO, with repayment to come from trust proceeds upon a business combination.
- · The note is non-interest bearing.
- · Conversion price is $10.00 per unit into New Units of the post-business combination entity.
- · The payee has waived all claims against the trust account established for the IPO.
- · The note amends and restates a prior note dated January 26, 2026 with a $500,000 principal.
- · The additional advance of $250,000 was made on August 11, 2026.
12-08-2026
OceanLight Acquisition Corporation, a blank-check company, priced its $100 million IPO of 10 million units at $10.00 per unit on August 7, 2026. The proceeds will be held in trust pending a future business combination. The units begin trading on Nasdaq under 'OCLTU' and are expected to close on August 10, 2026.
- · Each unit consists of one ordinary share, one right to receive one-fourth of one ordinary share upon a business combination, and one redeemable warrant exercisable at $11.50 per share.
- · Ordinary shares, rights, and warrants are expected to trade separately under OCLT, OCLTR, and OCLTW respectively.
- · Underwriters have a 45-day option to purchase up to 1,500,000 additional units to cover over-allotments.
- · Registration statement on Form S-1 (File No. 333-296802) was declared effective on August 7, 2026.
12-08-2026
Stem reported Q2 2026 revenue of $33.7 million, down 12% YoY from $38.4 million, primarily driven by reduced battery hardware resales and lower managed services revenue. However, adjusted EBITDA rose 63% to $6.2 million, marking the fifth consecutive quarter of positive adjusted EBITDA, and non-GAAP gross margin improved to 55% from 49% a year ago. The company also acquired the assets of raicoon GmbH to enhance its PowerTrack platform and reaffirmed full-year 2026 guidance across all metrics.
- · Software, services, and edge hardware revenue was $33.4M in Q2 2026, up just 1% YoY from $32.9M, with PowerTrack software revenue up 11% YoY but partially offset by lower managed services.
- · GAAP gross margin improved to 41% from 33%, while non-GAAP gross margin improved to 55% from 49% a year ago.
- · Q2 2026 net loss of $14.4M compared to net income of $202.5M in Q2 2025, primarily due to a one-time gain on debt extinguishment in prior year.
- · Company ended Q2 2026 with $38.4M in cash, up from $36.6M at end of Q1 2026; operating cash flow improved to $0.3M from negative $21.3M in Q2 2025.
- · Q2 2026 bookings of $36.8M were up 39% sequentially from $26.5M in Q1 2026.
- · Contracted backlog grew 18% sequentially to $27.1M and CARR grew 3% to $69.0M.
- · ARR at Q2 2026 end was $62.4M, up 2% sequentially; PowerTrack ARR was $42.8M (up 3% sequentially), managed services ARR was $19.6M (flat).
- · Storage AUM grew 6% sequentially to 1.8 GWh; solar AUM grew 2% sequentially to 38.3 GW.
- · Acquired assets of raicoon GmbH (April 28, 2026); launched AIONA (June 17, 2026); PowerTrack EMS won The smarter E AWARD 2026 in Smart Integrated Energy category (July 1, 2026).
12-08-2026
TCGX Acquisition Corp. completed its IPO and a concurrent private placement on August 6, 2026, raising total gross proceeds of $91.475 million. The IPO of 8.625 million Class A ordinary shares at $10.00 per share generated $86.25 million, and the private placement of 522,500 shares at the same price added $5.225 million. Net proceeds of $86.25 million were placed in a trust account for public shareholders, with the underwriter's discount of $862,500 excluded from the trust.
- · The IPO included full exercise of the underwriters' over-allotment option for 1,125,000 shares.
- · Private placement shares were purchased by TCGX Sponsor, LLC (436,250 shares) and Jefferies LLC (86,250 shares).
- · The trust account is held with Odyssey Transfer and Trust Company as trustee.
- · An audited balance sheet as of August 6, 2026, is included as Exhibit 99.1.
12-08-2026
XMax Inc. filed an 8-K on August 12, 2026, regarding a merger/acquisition, with Items 1.01 (Entry into Material Definitive Agreement), 2.01 (Completion of Acquisition or Disposition of Assets), and 9.01 (Financial Statements and Exhibits). However, the filing summary provides no specific details on deal size, parties, valuation, or financial metrics, limiting actionable analysis.
12-08-2026
Pelican Acquisition II Corp filed an 8-K on August 12, 2026, announcing a merger/acquisition event. The filing includes Items 8.01 (Other Events) and 9.01 (Financial Statements and Exhibits), but no specific financial details, deal structure, or strategic rationale were disclosed. The sector is not specified, and no quantitative data is available.
- · Filing date: August 12, 2026
- · Accession number: 0001829126-26-008706
- · File size: 269 KB
- · Sector: not specified
12-08-2026
byNordic Acquisition Corporation filed an 8-K on August 12, 2026, reporting amendments to its Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation dated August 7, 2026. The filing covers Items 5.03 (amendments to articles of incorporation/bylaws), 5.07 (submission of matters to a vote of security holders), and 8.01 (other events). No specific financial figures or operational metrics were disclosed in the filing.
- · The charter amendment was filed as Exhibit 3.1 to the 8-K.
- · The amendment date is August 7, 2026.
- · The filing also covers Item 5.07 (submission of matters to a vote of security holders) and Item 8.01 (other events), but no details on those items are provided in the excerpt.
12-08-2026
Embrace Change Acquisition Corp. (EMCWF) adopted a Fifth Amended and Restated Memorandum and Articles of Association on August 11, 2026, to facilitate a Business Combination. The new governing documents define a Business Combination as a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization, or similar combination with one or more operating businesses or assets having a fair market value of at least 80% of the net assets held in the trust account. The filing also includes provisions for mergers, consolidations, and tax filings, indicating the company is advancing its de-SPAC process.
- · The company is domiciled in the Cayman Islands with registered office at Sertus Chambers, Governors Square, Suite # 5-204, 23 Lime Tree Bay Avenue, P.O. Box 2547, Grand Cayman, KY1-1104, Cayman Islands.
- · The authorized share capital is US$50,000 divided into 500,000,000 ordinary shares of par value US$0.0001 each.
- · The Business Combination must not be effectuated solely with another blank cheque company or a similar company with nominal operations.
- · The Articles include provisions for mergers and consolidations (Article 36) and certain tax filings (Article 38).
- · The filing was made under Items 1.01 (Material Agreement Entry), 5.03 (Amendments to Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws), 5.07 (Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders), 8.01 (Other Events), and 9.01 (Financial Statements and Exhibits).
Get daily alerts with 10 investment signals, 8 risk alerts, 8 opportunities and full AI analysis of all 12 filings
$30/mo after a 14-day free trial — no credit card required. See pricing or explore intelligence streams.
More from: US Merger & Acquisition SEC Filings
🇺🇸 More from United States
View all →August 13, 2026
US Pre-Market SEC Filings Roundup — August 13, 2026
US Pre-Market SEC Filings Roundup
August 13, 2026
USA Corporate Events Calendar — August 13, 2026
USA Corporate Events Calendar
August 13, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule — August 13, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule
August 12, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule — August 12, 2026
USA Earnings Calls Schedule