BLOG / 🇺🇸 United States / ma activity · · daily

US Merger & Acquisition SEC Filings — August 14, 2026

USA M&A & Takeover Activity

By Gunpowder Editorial ·

13 high priority 13 total filings analysed

Executive Summary

The August 14, 2026, US M&A filing stream is dominated by SPAC activity, with 7 of 13 filings involving special purpose acquisition companies, primarily focused on extending deadlines and managing cash runway. The most significant transaction is SpaceX's $60.0 billion all-stock acquisition of Anysphere (Cursor), a transformative deal that signals a major convergence of space technology and AI software.

Proficient Auto Logistics' $75.0 million convertible note offering provides a capital allocation signal, using proceeds to refinance debt and manage dilution. A notable pattern is the lack of deal-specific financial details in several filings (Elme Communities, CENTERSPACE, Pinnacle Acquisition, OceanLight Acquisition), creating information asymmetry and risk. The aggregate data reveals a market where SPACs are buying time, while a single high-profile tech acquisition and a strategic debt refinancing offer the most actionable intelligence for investors.

Materiality, sentiment, and priority are scored by Gunpowder’s analysis pipeline. How we score filings →

Filing types in this digest: 8-K

Tracking the trend? Catch up on the prior US Merger & Acquisition SEC Filings digest from August 13, 2026.

Investment Signals (10)

  • SpaceX/Cursor Acquisition (BULLISH)

    SpaceX acquired Anysphere (Cursor) for ~389.3 million shares at an implied equity value of $60.0 billion, funded entirely with stock. This signals a massive strategic bet on AI-powered software development, with no cash component reducing immediate liquidity risk.

  • Priced a $75.0M convertible note offering (5.50% coupon, due 2033) with a 27.5% conversion premium over the $5.10 closing price. The $71.4M net proceeds will refinance debt and fund capped call transactions to reduce dilution, signaling disciplined capital management.

  • Shareholders approved a six-month extension to February 15, 2027, with $75,000 monthly deposits. This provides a clear timeline for a business combination, reducing immediate liquidation risk.

  • Drew the final $30,000 installment under its $180,000 promissory note, extending the deadline to September 17, 2026. This is a routine but necessary step to avoid liquidation, with no new deal announced.

  • Completed a merger on August 7, 2026, adopting a new certificate of incorporation authorizing only 100 shares. This extreme restructuring suggests a reverse merger or shell company transformation, warranting caution.

  • Sponsor affiliate waived $10,000/month administrative fees from October 2025 until deal or liquidation. This reduces cash burn and signals sponsor commitment to finding a target.

  • Filed an 8-K for a change in certifying accountant (Item 4.01) with no M&A details. This could indicate internal control issues or a precursor to a business combination, but lacks actionable data.

  • Filed an 8-K for director/officer changes (Item 5.02) with no M&A details. This is a routine governance update with no investment signal.

  • Filed an 8-K for a direct financial obligation (Item 2.03) with no specifics. The creation of a financial obligation could signal a pending acquisition, but the lack of data makes this speculative.

  • Filed an 8-K for an unspecified merger/acquisition event (Item 8.01) with no financial details. The 523 KB file size suggests exhibits, but the lack of disclosure creates uncertainty.

Risk Flags (8)

  • The merger resulted in a certificate authorizing only 100 shares, indicating a massive reverse stock split or shell company structure. This extreme corporate action suggests significant dilution or a complete change in business focus.

  • Filed an 8-K for an acquisition/disposition (Item 2.01) but disclosed no target, deal size, or financial terms. This lack of transparency prevents investors from assessing the impact on the REIT's portfolio.

  • Filed an 8-K for an acquisition/disposition (Item 2.01) with no disclosed target, deal value, or strategic rationale. The 382 KB file size suggests exhibits, but the summary lacks any quantitative data.

  • Filed an 8-K for a material definitive agreement (Item 1.01) but disclosed no deal structure, parties, or valuation. As a SPAC, this carries inherent execution risk, dilution, and potential for adverse terms.

  • Filed an 8-K for a direct financial obligation (Item 2.03) with no details on size, terms, or counterparty. This could imply new debt or contingent liabilities that may strain the balance sheet.

  • Filed an 8-K for an unspecified merger/acquisition event (Item 8.01) with no financial details. The lack of disclosure creates uncertainty about valuation, dilution, and regulatory pathway.

  • The final drawdown of the promissory note extends the deadline only to September 17, 2026. If no deal closes, the SPAC will liquidate, and shareholders face redemption at trust value with no upside.

  • The change in certifying accountant (Item 4.01) could indicate disagreements, internal control weaknesses, or a precursor to a business combination. The lack of details on the reason for the change is a red flag.

Opportunities (8)

  • SpaceX/Cursor Acquisition (OPPORTUNITY)

    The $60.0 billion all-stock acquisition of Cursor positions SpaceX at the intersection of space technology and AI software. Investors should monitor for synergies in satellite data processing and autonomous systems.

  • The 5.50% coupon with a 27.5% conversion premium offers a yield-plus-equity-upside profile. The $71.4M net proceeds will refinance debt, potentially improving credit metrics.

  • The approved six-month extension to February 15, 2027, with $75,000 monthly deposits, provides a clear runway for a business combination. Investors can monitor for a target announcement, which could unlock value.

  • StoneBridge Acquisition Corp II/Reduced Cash Burn (OPPORTUNITY)

    The waiver of $10,000/month administrative fees reduces cash burn and signals sponsor commitment. This improves the SPAC's financial flexibility during the target search.

  • The extreme restructuring (100 shares authorized) suggests a reverse merger or shell company. If the merged entity has a viable business, this could be a high-risk, high-reward opportunity.

  • The 450 KB filing size suggests detailed exhibits. Investors should review the exhibits for financial projections, target details, and deal terms that could reveal a high-quality acquisition.

  • The 523 KB filing size suggests exhibits. If the unspecified event is a high-value acquisition, subsequent filings (e.g., S-4) could provide clarity and unlock value.

  • The undisclosed acquisition/disposition could signal strategic repositioning. If the deal involves selling underperforming assets or acquiring high-growth properties, it could enhance the REIT's portfolio.

Sector Themes (5)

  • SPAC Extension Wave

    4 of 13 filings (WinVest, RF Acquisition II, StoneBridge, and potentially others) involve SPACs extending deadlines or managing cash. This indicates a market where SPACs are struggling to find quality targets, but also buying time to avoid liquidation. Investors should focus on SPACs with strong sponsor support and clear deal pipelines.

  • Information Asymmetry in M&A Disclosures

    4 filings (Elme Communities, CENTERSPACE, Pinnacle Acquisition, OceanLight Acquisition) disclosed M&A events without providing deal specifics. This pattern suggests either minor transactions or a desire for confidentiality, creating risk for investors who cannot assess impact.

  • All-Stock Transactions Gaining Traction

    The SpaceX/Cursor acquisition was funded entirely with stock, and Proficient Auto Logistics used convertible notes. This trend suggests that acquirers are preserving cash and using equity as currency, which can be accretive if the stock is undervalued.

  • Capital Allocation Focus on Debt Management

    Proficient Auto Logistics' $75.0M convertible note offering is explicitly for refinancing debt and managing dilution. This reflects a broader theme of companies prioritizing balance sheet strength and shareholder returns over aggressive M&A.

  • Corporate Restructuring as a Catalyst

    Texas Mineral Resources Corp's merger resulting in a 100-share authorization is an extreme example of restructuring. This theme suggests that some companies are using M&A to fundamentally change their capital structure, which can be a catalyst for value creation or destruction.

Watch List (8)

  • SpaceX/Cursor Integration
    👁

    Monitor for subsequent filings on the integration of Cursor's AI technology into SpaceX's operations, including potential revenue synergies and product launches. No specific date.

  • Settlement expected on August 13, 2026. Watch for the use of proceeds and any impact on the stock price due to dilution management via capped call transactions.

  • With the extension to February 15, 2027, watch for a target announcement. The $75,000 monthly deposits indicate active deal pursuit.

  • The final extension deadline is September 17, 2026. If no deal is announced, the SPAC will liquidate. Monitor for any business combination announcement before this date.

  • The 450 KB filing likely contains exhibits with deal terms. Investors should review the exhibits for target identity, valuation, and financial projections.

  • The unspecified merger/acquisition event may be followed by a more detailed filing (e.g., S-4 or definitive agreement). Watch for updates that provide clarity on the deal.

  • The undisclosed acquisition/disposition may be followed by financial statements and pro forma data. Watch for a follow-up 8-K or press release with deal details.

  • The merger completed on August 7, 2026, with only 100 shares authorized. Watch for subsequent filings that reveal the merged entity's business plan, financials, and trading symbol.

Filing Analyses (13)
Plum Acquisition Corp. III 8-K neutral materiality 1/10

14-08-2026

Plum Acquisition Corp. III filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, disclosing a change in its certifying accountant (Item 4.01) and providing financial statements and exhibits (Item 9.01). The filing does not specify any merger or acquisition transaction details, deal size, parties, or strategic rationale. The change in accountant may indicate a shift in financial oversight but lacks quantitative data or context to assess materiality or direction.

  • · The filing is an 8-K submitted on August 14, 2026, with accession number 0001213900-26-090294 and size 256 KB.
  • · No merger, acquisition, or business combination transaction is described in the filing.
  • · The change in certifying accountant (Item 4.01) may involve a resignation, dismissal, or appointment, but no details on the accountant's identity or reason for change are provided.
  • · Item 9.01 includes financial statements and exhibits, but their content is not specified in the summary.
Texas Mineral Resources Corp. 8-K neutral materiality 5/10

14-08-2026

Texas Mineral Resources Corp. filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, reporting the adoption of an amended and restated certificate of incorporation in connection with a merger completed on August 7, 2026. The new certificate authorizes only 100 shares of common stock, indicating a significant corporate restructuring. No financial details are provided in this filing.

  • · The amended certificate of incorporation was adopted in connection with the first merger on August 7, 2026.
  • · The company is now incorporated in Delaware with registered office at 1521 Concord Pike, Suite 201, Wilmington, DE 19803.
  • · The certificate includes provisions for director exculpation and indemnification to the fullest extent permitted under Delaware law.
WinVest Acquisition Corp. 8-K neutral materiality 3/10

14-08-2026

WinVest Acquisition Corp. drew down the sixth and final $30,000 installment under its $180,000 promissory note from sponsor WinVest SPAC LLC, extending the business combination deadline from August 17, 2026 to September 17, 2026. The funds were deposited into the trust account and will be used for shareholder redemptions or liquidation if no deal closes. This is a routine financing step to extend the SPAC's timeline, with no new business combination announced.

  • · The promissory note is unsecured, non-interest bearing, and matures upon the earlier of a business combination closing or liquidation.
  • · The note can be drawn in up to six equal installments of $30,000; this was the sixth and final drawdown.
  • · If no business combination is consummated, repayment is limited to funds remaining outside the trust account.
  • · The extension moves the termination date from August 17, 2026 to September 17, 2026.
  • · The deposited funds will be distributed to public shareholders upon liquidation or to redeeming shareholders in connection with a business combination.
RF Acquisition Corp II 8-K neutral materiality 5/10

14-08-2026

RF Acquisition Corp II (RFAIR) shareholders approved an extension of the deadline to complete a business combination from August 15, 2026 to February 15, 2027, allowing up to six one-month extensions. Each extension requires a $75,000 deposit into the trust account and five days' advance notice (two days for the first extension). The company also amended its trust agreement to reflect these changes.

  • · The original trust agreement was dated May 16, 2024 and first amended on November 10, 2025.
  • · The special meeting was held on August 12, 2026.
  • · The company forfeited its right to withdraw up to $100,000 of interest to pay liquidation and dissolution expenses.
  • · The extension letter must be sent to Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company at 1 State Street, 30th Floor, New York, NY 10004.
SPACE EXPLORATION TECHNOLOGIES CORP 8-K neutral materiality 9/10

14-08-2026

Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (SpaceX) completed its acquisition of Anysphere, Inc. (Cursor) on August 14, 2026, through a merger. The total consideration included approximately 389.3 million shares of SpaceX Class A common stock for Cursor's outstanding equity, based on an implied equity value of $60.0 billion, plus additional shares and equity awards for Cursor's RSUs and stock options. The acquisition was funded entirely with stock, with no cash component disclosed.

  • · The merger was structured as a reverse triangular merger with X67 Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of SpaceX, merging into Cursor.
  • · The price per share of SpaceX Class A common stock used for the conversion was based on the volume-weighted average closing price over the seven consecutive trading days immediately preceding the closing.
  • · The issuance of shares to Cursor stockholders was exempt from registration under Section 4(a)(2) of the Securities Act as a transaction not involving a public offering.
  • · The Merger Agreement was originally filed as Exhibit 10.1 to SpaceX's Form 8-K on June 16, 2026.
Proficient Auto Logistics, Inc 8-K neutral materiality 7/10

14-08-2026

Proficient Auto Logistics, Inc. (PAL) announced the pricing of a $75.0 million convertible senior notes offering due 2033, with a 5.50% coupon and an initial conversion price of approximately $6.50 per share, representing a 27.5% premium over the $5.10 closing price on August 11, 2026. The company expects net proceeds of about $71.4 million, which will be used to refinance outstanding indebtedness and pay premiums on capped call transactions entered to reduce potential dilution. The notes are unsecured and will be offered privately to qualified institutional buyers, with settlement expected on August 13, 2026.

  • · The notes mature on August 15, 2033, unless earlier repurchased, redeemed or converted.
  • · Interest is payable semi-annually on February 15 and August 15, beginning February 15, 2027.
  • · Before May 15, 2033, conversion is allowed only upon certain events; after that date, holders may convert at any time.
  • · Proficient may settle conversions in cash, shares, or a combination thereof.
  • · The initial conversion price of ~$6.50 per share represents a 27.5% premium over the $5.10 closing price on August 11, 2026.
  • · Proficient may redeem the notes for cash on or after August 15, 2030, if the stock price exceeds 130% of the conversion price for a specified period.
  • · Proficient may also redeem the notes if outstanding principal is less than 10% of the initial aggregate principal amount.
  • · Upon a fundamental change, Proficient must offer to repurchase the notes at par plus accrued interest.
  • · Capped call transactions have an initial cap price of $8.93 per share and are expected to expire starting May 18, 2033.
  • · Option counterparties may engage in hedging activities that could affect the market price of PAL common stock or the notes.
StoneBridge Acquisition II Corp 8-K neutral materiality 3/10

14-08-2026

StoneBridge Acquisition II Corp entered into a waiver with Scieniti LLC, an affiliate of its sponsor, to irrevocably waive monthly administrative service fees of $10,000 from October 1, 2025, until the earlier of its initial business combination or liquidation. This reduces cash burn and simplifies financial obligations during the SPAC's search for a merger target.

  • · The waiver was signed on August 10, 2026, and filed on August 14, 2026.
  • · The original Administrative Services Agreement was entered into on September 30, 2025.
  • · The waiver covers all periods from October 1, 2025, through the earlier of the initial business combination or liquidation.
Elme Communities 8-K neutral materiality 3/10

14-08-2026

Elme Communities filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, reporting the completion of an acquisition or disposition of assets under Item 2.01, along with related financial statements and exhibits under Item 9.01. The filing provides no specific financial details, deal structure, or strategic rationale, limiting actionable insights. No quantitative data, named entities, or scheduled events are disclosed.

Integrated Wellness Acquisition Corp 8-K neutral materiality 1/10

14-08-2026

The filing is an 8-K under Item 5.02 regarding the departure of directors or certain officers; election of directors; appointment of certain officers; compensatory arrangements of certain officers for Integrated Wellness Acquisition Corp. The filing does not disclose any merger or acquisition transaction details, deal structure, strategic rationale, valuation, or financial terms. No specific numbers, dates, or named entities beyond the company itself are provided. The event appears to be a routine corporate governance update with no material financial impact disclosed.

CENTERSPACE 8-K neutral materiality 1/10

14-08-2026

The filing reports the completion of an acquisition or disposition of assets by CENTERSPACE, as per Item 2.01 of Form 8-K. However, the filing does not disclose the specific target, deal size, consideration type, or any financial metrics. Without these details, the investment implications are unclear, and the filing appears to be a procedural notification with no material quantitative data.

  • · The filing is dated August 14, 2026, and has an SEC accession number of 0000798359-26-000084.
  • · The filing size is 382 KB, suggesting it may contain exhibits or financial statements, but the summary does not extract any data from them.
  • · No sector is specified for CENTERSPACE, limiting industry context.
Pinnacle Acquisition Corp 8-K neutral materiality 5/10

14-08-2026

Pinnacle Acquisition Corp filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, disclosing entry into a material definitive agreement (Item 1.01), other events (Item 8.01), and financial statements/exhibits (Item 9.01). The filing indicates a merger or acquisition event, but no specific deal structure, parties, valuation, or financial metrics are provided. The filing size (450 KB) suggests detailed exhibits, but the summary lacks quantitative data, strategic rationale, or regulatory details.

  • · Filing date: August 14, 2026
  • · Filing size: 450 KB (suggests detailed exhibits, but content not summarized)
  • · No specific deal structure, parties, or valuation disclosed in the summary
Bayview Acquisition Corp 8-K neutral materiality 1/10

14-08-2026

Bayview Acquisition Corp filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, under Item 2.03, disclosing the creation of a direct financial obligation or an off-balance sheet arrangement. The filing does not provide any details on the nature, size, or parties involved in the merger/acquisition, nor any financial metrics or strategic rationale. The analysis is severely limited by the lack of quantitative and qualitative data.

  • · The filing is an 8-K submitted on August 14, 2026, with accession number 0001493152-26-038507 and size 262 KB.
  • · No sector, deal parties, valuation, or financial metrics are disclosed in the filing summary.
OceanLight Acquisition Corp 8-K neutral materiality 1/10

14-08-2026

OceanLight Acquisition Corp filed an 8-K on August 14, 2026, disclosing an unspecified merger/acquisition event under Item 8.01 (Other Events) and Item 9.01 (Financial Statements and Exhibits). The filing provides no financial details, deal structure, valuation, or strategic rationale, making it impossible to assess materiality or direction. The filing is purely informational with no quantitative data, leaving the nature and impact of the event entirely undisclosed.

  • · Filing date: August 14, 2026
  • · SEC Accession Number: 0001829126-26-008909
  • · File size: 523 KB
  • · No financial statements, exhibits, or deal terms were disclosed in the filing summary.

Get daily alerts with 10 investment signals, 8 risk alerts, 8 opportunities and full AI analysis of all 13 filings

$30/mo after a 14-day free trial — no credit card required. See pricing or explore intelligence streams.

More from: US Merger & Acquisition SEC Filings

🇺🇸 More from United States

View all →